Awards & Scholarships

Click Below for Nomination Forms: 

Please note applications should be mailed before April 1st. Please mail to: Sharon Rosbottom 323 Huston Dr, Jeffersonville, IN 47130. For Questions Contact: Sharon Rosbottom, Scholarship Director Phone:  Phone: 502-931-9208 Email: [email protected]

ISWA-Scholarship Application & Hurrle-Award-Nomination-Form:

John Hurrle Award Information: John Hurrle, one of the original founders and lifetime member of the Indiana State Wrestling Association, coached for many years at Arsenal Technical High School in Indianapolis, IN. John was devoted to wrestling and to the kids in the state and served on the Board of Directors from 1978 until his death in 1991. The ISWA is dedicated to the example that John set for our organization. John’s motto was “DO IT FOR THE KIDS!” It is a motto the ISWA has adopted as their own.  The John Hurrle Award is presented annually by the Indiana State Wrestling Association to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the sport of Amateur Wrestling in the State of Indiana. The winner is chosen from nominations submitted by ISWA member clubs and directors and is presented to the recipient at the Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association Banquet held each year in February.
John Schattner Memorial Scholarship Information:  In 2012 the ISWA Board of Directors voted to award an annual scholarship in John’s memory.John left behind a lifetime of friends.  John was someone who was always helping others. John was a skilled and respected math teacher, wrestling coach and an athletic director. Anyone connected with wrestling in Indiana knew who John was.  John was an IHSAA wrestling official for 40 years. His distinctive deep voice could be heard resonating across the entire gym.   John served as the transportation director for the ISWA for many years.  John was a lifetime member of the ISWA.  John also received the John Hurrle Award. John organized trips to the NCAA Wrestling Finals for Indiana officials and coaches which he attended for the last 25 years.  John was also a member of the Indiana Wrestling Hall of Fame.  John mentored new officials as they worked their way into the wresting community. John also officiated football, volleyball and track and was a cross country meet starter.  John was a fixture at numerous CYO contests over the past 40 years. John was involved in his own prison ministry, visiting dozens of inmates over the years, as well as transporting prisoners’ families to and from prisons for visits. John was loyal to all of his friends.  John made sure his mom felt special and loved.  John did that for a lot of people in the wrestling community.
Mike Dowden Memorial Award Information:  Mike helped to establish the ISWA and served on its board for 28 years and as State Chairperson for 26 years.  Upon retirement Mike was made a lifetime member of the ISWA.  Mike also served on the board of USA Wrestling. Mike received the ISWA John Hurrle award as well and was a member of the IHSCWA Hall of Fame. Mike’s name was known throughout the country for his hard work and integrity in the wrestling world. Mike could be counted on to make sound decisions, always with the wrestlers in mind. Mike touched many lives throughout Indiana and the rest of the country and will be missed for his insightful input. 
Rollie Hoover Memorial Scholarship Information: In 1998 the ISWA Board of Directors voted to award an annual scholarship to a graduating high school senior, who in addition to being a good student, contributed to the ISWA as an official. Rollie Hoover suffered a fatal heart attack on his way to referee a tournament in Helsinki, Finland.  Wrestling was one of Rollie’s loves. He touched many lives whether it was coaching his 1968 Elkhart Central team to a state championship or teaching a new move on the mat, he was always unselfish and willing to share his vast knowledge with anyone willing to learn. Rollie was a mentor for many young referees. He was usually the first to arrive and the last to leave. You could always find him on the mat with a young referee. His willingness to work with young people to help them develop as referees, wrestlers, and most of all as human beings was evident to all who know him. Rollie had a way about him that did not intimidate a new official, even though he held the highest US category, M1 Exceptionelle, and the international category of FILA1. Rollie was a charter member and two time past president of the Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association, the recipient of the Billy Thom Award for service and the ISWA John Hurrle Award.
Founders Scholarship Award Information:  The Indiana State Wrestling Association of USA Wrestling, Inc. (ISWA) takes pleasure in offering the “Founders Scholarship.” This program is available to graduating high school seniors who qualify for and are selected to receive this award.  The criteria are as follows:
  1. The applicant must be a current member of the ISWA and must have participated in the program the immediate previous year.
  2. Must be a graduating high school senior.
  3. Must have an average or above average academic standing.
  4. 4. Must show a personal interest in their community.
  5. Has been accepted by a College or University or has applied to attend a College or University.

Please note applications should be mailed before April 1st. Please mail to: Sharon Rosbottom 323 Huston Dr, Jeffersonville, IN 47130. For Questions Contact: Sharon Rosbottom, Scholarship Director Phone:  Phone: 502-931-9208 Email: [email protected]

Past Scholarship Recipients

Triple Crown Winners:2016-triple-crowns

Congratulations to all of our 2016 ISWA Triple Crown Winners!!

Bantam 50- Case Bell of Contenders WA
Bantam 75- Rowan Treasurer of Region WA
Intermediate 45- Peyton Brummitt of Perry Meridian WC
Intermediate 50/55- Nathan Rioux of Contenders WA
Intermediate 55/60- Revin Dickman of Contenders WA
Intermediate 65/70- Kyle Harden of CIA
Intermediate 70/75- Julian Weems of Center Grove WC
Intermediate 75/80- Anthony Rinehart of Contenders WA
Intermediate 87- Shaun Glass of Southport WC
Intermediate 103/112- Jaylen Young of Perry Meridian WC
Novice 55- Caleb Reed of Maurer Coughlin WC
Novice 65- Brady Ison of Contenders WA
Novice 75/80- Cheaney Schoeff of Contenders WA
Novice 90- Kaden McConnell of Contenders WA
Novice 130- Seth Willems of Region WA
Novice 165- Leighton Jones of Red Cobra WA
Novice 190- Mason Garrison of Southport WC
Schoolboy 105/112- Blake Boarman of Maurer Coughlin WC
Schoolboy 120/128- Jaden Reynolds of Red Cobra WA
Schoolboy 128/136- Aiden Warren of Perry Meridian WC
Schoolboy 160/175- Silas Allred of Shenandoah WC
Cadet 88/94- Alex Cottey of Perry Meridian WC
Cadet 106- Jacob Moran of Unaffiliated
Cadet 132- Jack Servies of Perry Meridian WC
Cadet 170- Kameron Fuller of Team Jeff WC
Cadet 182/195- Lucas Davison of Chesterton WC
Junior 113- Samuel Fair of Perry Meridian WC
Junior 132/138- Breyden Bailey of Indiana Pride WA
Junior 152- Noah Warren of Perry Meridian WC
Junior 195- Andrew Davison of Chesterton WC

John Hurrle Award:

Dave Errett of Martinsville

Volunteer of the Year:

2016 Nicole, Sabrina, Jennifer Pedroza of Avon

Official of the Year:

2016 Jerry Ingalls or Whitewater Valley WC


Brandon Whaley Young Official of the Year:

2016 Matt Fields of Whiteland

Pairing Official of the Year:

2016 Nicole Kenworthy, Shawn Halbig of Princeton

Club of the Year:

2016 Warren Wrestling Academy


Outstanding Folkstyle Referee of the Year:

2016 Tim Welch of Greenwood

Cadet/Junior Coach of the Year:

2016 Jake O’Neil of Wabash


Kids Coach of the Year:

2016 Matt Krulik of Warren Wrestling Academy

Click here for additional winners: iswa-award-winners