skip navigation

"Do it for the Kids" John Hurrle Nomination is NOW OPEN until Jan. 31st, 2023

By ISWA, 01/18/23, 11:15AM EST



John Hurrle, one of the original founders and lifetime member of the Indiana State Wrestling Association, coached for many years at Arsenal Technical High School in Indianapolis, IN. John was devoted to wrestling and to the kids in the state and served on the Board of Directors from 1978 until his death in 1991. The ISWA is dedicated to the example that John set for our organization. John’s motto was “DO IT FOR THE KIDS!” It is a motto the ISWA has adopted as their own.  The John Hurrle Award is presented annually by the Indiana State Wrestling Association to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the sport of Amateur Wrestling in the State of Indiana. The winner is chosen from nominations submitted by ISWA member clubs and directors and is presented to the recipient at the Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association Banquet held each year in February.

Clubs and ISWA Board of Directors are allowed one nomination before January 31st, 2023.  Clubs received an email along with all ISWA Board of Directors. Clubs can also find the link and past award winners here: