skip navigation


ISWA Scholarship Information and Application Deadline & Requirements

The Indiana State Wrestling Association of USA Wrestling, Inc. (ISWA) takes pleasure in offering the “Founders Scholarship.” This program is available to graduating high school seniors who qualify for and are selected to receive this award. 

The criteria are as follows:

  1. The applicant must be a current member of the ISWA and must have participated in the program the immediate previous year. 
  2. Must be a graduating high school senior.
  3. Must have an average or above average academic standing. Must show a personal interest in their community.
  4. Has been accepted by a College or University or has applied to attend a College or University.

Please note applications must be completed online by April 1st, 2021

This includes all required items to be uploaded in application including a reference letter, high school transcripts, current USAW Membership number, profile image (if selected this image will be used in the annual publication) and an essay written by applicant explaining why they should receive the award.

Please allow ample time to complete this online application.

John Schattner Memorial Scholarship Information

In 2012 the ISWA Board of Directors voted to award an annual scholarship in John’s memory.John left behind a lifetime of friends. John was someone who was always helping others. John was a skilled and respected math teacher, wrestling coach and an athletic director. Anyone connected with wrestling in Indiana knew who John was. John was an IHSAA wrestling official for 40 years. His distinctive deep voice could be heard resonating across the entire gym. John served as the transportation director for the ISWA for many years. John was a lifetime member of the ISWA. John also received the John Hurrle Award. John organized trips to the NCAA Wrestling Finals for Indiana officials and coaches which he attended for the last 25 years. John was also a member of the Indiana Wrestling Hall of Fame. John mentored new officials as they worked their way into the wresting community. John also officiated football, volleyball and track and was a cross country meet starter. John was a fixture at numerous CYO contests over the past 40 years. John was involved in his own prison ministry, visiting dozens of inmates over the years, as well as transporting prisoners’ families to and from prisons for visits. John was loyal to all of his friends. John made sure his mom felt special and loved. John did that for a lot of people in the wrestling community.

Mike Dowden Memorial Award Information

Mike helped to establish the ISWA and served on its board for 28 years and as State Chairperson for 26 years. Upon retirement Mike was made a lifetime member of the ISWA. Mike also served on the board of USA Wrestling. Mike received the ISWA John Hurrle award as well and was a member of the IHSCWA Hall of Fame. Mike’s name was known throughout the country for his hard work and integrity in the wrestling world. Mike could be counted on to make sound decisions, always with the wrestlers in mind. Mike touched many lives throughout Indiana and the rest of the country and will be missed for his insightful input.

Rollie Hoover Memorial Scholarship Information

In 1998 the ISWA Board of Directors voted to award an annual scholarship to a graduating high school senior, who in addition to being a good student, contributed to the ISWA as an official. Rollie Hoover suffered a fatal heart attack on his way to referee a tournament in Helsinki, Finland. Wrestling was one of Rollie’s loves. He touched many lives whether it was coaching his 1968 Elkhart Central team to a state championship or teaching a new move on the mat, he was always unselfish and willing to share his vast knowledge with anyone willing to learn. Rollie was a mentor for many young referees. He was usually the first to arrive and the last to leave. You could always find him on the mat with a young referee. His willingness to work with young people to help them develop as referees, wrestlers, and most of all as human beings was evident to all who know him. Rollie had a way about him that did not intimidate a new official, even though he held the highest US category, M1 Exceptionelle, and the international category of FILA1. Rollie was a charter member and two time past president of the Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association, the recipient of the Billy Thom Award for service and the ISWA John Hurrle Award.

Scholarship Information

Phone: (317)780-1885

2020 ISWA Scholarship Winners

Hayden Tippmann –FW Snider HS – FW Snider WC – Founders Scholarship 

Carson Eldred – Westfield HS – Westfield WC – Founders Scholarship 

Ray Rioux – Avon HS – Avon WC – Founders Scholarship 

Jaryn Strong – TH South HS – Prodigy WC –Founders Scholarship 

Isiah Levitz – Prairie Heights HS – Praire Heights WC - Mike Dowden Mem. Scholarship 

Caden Friedt – Bellmont HS – Decatur WC - Rollie Hoover Mem. Scholarship 

Taylor Webster – North Montgomery HS – Normonco WC - John Schattner Mem. Scholarship